Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia (EECCA) - Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

The active involvement of the countries of EECCA is imperative to the regional cohesiveness and effectiveness of the Convention on Long-range Transboundary Air Pollution. Ensuring the implementation and ratification of the Convention and its protocols within this region has been highlighted by the Executive Body as a priority.

At its thirty-seventh session, the Working Group on Strategies and Review agreed on an action plan to involve EECCA countries in the work of the Convention. Later this Action Plan was revised in line with the recommendations of the “Saltsjöbaden III” workshop held in Gothenburg, Sweden, in March 2007. The Action Plan is aiming at:

- raising political profile of the Convention in the region;

- encouraging ratification of the Convention’s most recent protocols;

- increasing cooperation and exchange of information through expanding the modeling and monitoring activities;

- supporting the EECCA countries involvement in the activities of the Convention.

In line with the above-mentioned priorities, following projects and activities are now being implemented or have been already completed. >>>>


Information about levels of pollution in EECCA countries prepared MSC-E in 2019 in Russian